Can Kicked Again

 Posted by at 21:39  economy, Politics
Oct 162013

Disaster has, for the moment, been averted thanks to the Democrats in both the Senate and the House of Representatives. A deal was reached that will reopen the government until January 15, 2014 and will raise the debt ceiling until February 7, 2014. We will fight this battle all over again after the first of the year.

Here is the final vote in the House of Representatives:

Note that all 198 Democrats voted in favor of continuing with this little experiment we like to call the United States of America. 144 Republicans voted to flush the whole thing while only 87 Republicans seem to like the country.

The vote in the Senate was 81 in favor and 18 against. All 18 no votes were Republicans. They were: Ted Cruz (Tex.), Marco Rubio (Fla.), Rand Paul (Ky.), Tom Coburn (Okla.), John Cornyn (Tex.), Mike Crapo (Idaho), Mike Enzi (Wyo.), Chuck Grassley (Iowa), Dean Heller (Nev.), Ron Johnson (Wis.), Mike Lee (Utah), Jim Risch (Idaho), Pat Roberts (Kan.), Tim Scott (S.C.), Jeff Sessions (Ala.), Richard Shelby (Ala.), Pat Toomey (Pa.) and David Vitter (La.).

President Obama promised to sign the legislation immediately. The United States government will be open for business tomorrow.

Thank you, Democrats.